The long journey home

Just like a lot people my age I have been doing some school shopping. One of the items on my list was a beard trimmer. For the longest time I had been using a trimmer at my house. But this next semester I am not going to go home as much; I work most weekends and there are laundry mats on every floor of my dorm. So because I won’t be going home often and because my facial hair grows too quickly I decided to get a beard trimmer. I bought one. I was pretty excited. After my shower I tried it. It seemed like all was going well in the first couple of seconds and then something terrible happened. Unlike what I used in the past you can’t put any pressure on your face while using it. Even a tiny amount will result in a big chunk of beard falling to the sink. I had only one choice.

I rubbed shaving cream all over my face, bringing back memories that I had long forgotten. The blade was new and sharp. With the sound of rushing water in the back ground I began. With ever stroke more of what I had loved for so long was leaving me. In just a short period of time it was gone. I looked at myself in the mirror and I could barely recognize the person staring back at me.

What good is a thick head of hair if it doesn’t extend down your jaw bones and across your chin? What good are straight teeth if they don’t look as white because they aren’t surrounded by brown hair? But I will survive. My beard will see the sun again. It’ll be a long journey but my face will be bearded!

 

About pblogj

I'm a Harding student working towards a degree in Middle Education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The long journey home

  1. lpsearcy says:

    This is my favorite blog post ever! Everytime I think about when this happened, I giggle! Luckily, you have sense learned how to correctly use your beard trimmer!

Leave a comment